Oil pulling

20140311-124109.jpg

Oil pulling is something I have recently come across. It is another natural way to detox your body. I have read articles that use sesame oil, olive oil, and coconut oil. I happen to have both olive oil and coconut oil laying around my house.

What to do…
If you use olive oil or sesame oil you don’t need to to melt it down. If you use coconut oil you are going to want to melt it down. DO NOT PUT IN THE MICROWAVE! It will kill all the good things in it. Put some in a bowl and set that bowl in hot water until it melts. You can use it solid as well. I have texture issues and couldn’t handle it solid to start.
Place about 1 tablespoon of oil in your mouth.
Swish around for 10-15 minuites.
Spit out in the sink (the oil should be cloudy)
Dry brush your teeth
Wait about 30 minutes then brush regularly. (You have to wait do the rest of the remaining oil pulls toxins from your mouth)
Do this at least 3 times a week.

My experience…
Today is day two of my trying this. Day one I tried using a solid chunk of coconut oil. Knowing it would melt in my mouth to swish around. It took about 2 minutes to completely liquefy. That was the longest two minutes on my life. Once It was completely liquid I swishes it around. I made it to 5 minuites with the oil in my mouth before I started gagging had to spit it out. Today was day two. I melted the oil down first and the swished. I made it 8 minutes today. The texture of having oil in my mouth is so bad I started gagging again today. I will continue to do this every day this week and see how I like handle it. Both days the oil was cloudy when I spit it out. It must be doing something.

Doesn’t hurt to give it a try!

This entry was posted in detox and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

