Goodbye Wii

Over the course of a few weeks I had been thinking about selling my Wii and getting something a bit different. Last weekend I made up my mind and sold my Wii to Game Stop for cash. I could have tried to sell it on Craigslist or something, however that isn’t always the safest for a girl to do. So I took a little less for it than I may have been able to get out of it. I have country dance and zumba for games. They are not in high demand either. Which I knew going in. After I sold my Wii I went to the local Best Buy and purchased the Google Chromecast. Truly I wanted to buy the Apple TV however it is very pricy and didn’t want to spend that kind of money on it to watch videos.

google-chromecast-9815First Impression

  • looks easy to instal
    • If you are like me and at least claim to be slightly techy this looks like a piece of cake. I plugged the HDMI drive into the slot, it was a little tight for my liking to I added the extender, then the power cord. Plugged it into my power shrip (NEVER directly to the wall).
  • Setup seemed simple
    • should have been simple and fast. My computer decided it didn’t want to load the information it needed to . Thankfully with my fast thinking I looked int he app store on my phone and it had the app for Chromecast setup. So if you have and iPhone you can set it up right from your phone. No problem. All you need is your WiFi password. After downloading the app it was piece of cake.
  • First use
    • I started to use it and our power went out all over our town. There was no reason for it. It was a sunny day and 65 degrees out, it wasn’t even that windy. I didn’t get to try it out for about an hour after I purchased it. Once I did it was very simple. I just get on the Netflix app on my then there is a little symbole at the bottom that you tap on then tap on the name of your Chromecast. Wait a few second and then it was on my tv.

After using it a week

I still enjoy it. I’ve had a few issues. I beleive it was conctivity issues though. It got really cold here and that doesnt happen often. As well as there have been some software and app updates. Other than those things I like it. It has taken some getting used to. I can use my device to do other things while it is playing a video. That is a huge plus. Also the Chromecast doesnt take up any space, like the Wii did.

If you are like me and have/had a Wii and didn’t use to for what it was made to do and are looking for something different. This is a good option. Did I mention anywhere that it was ONLY $35.

This entry was posted in review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

