Bare Minerals

I was going to label this as a first impressions, however I did not know if that was the right label. When I went to Ulta to purchase it I had the lady put some on me so I knew how to do it correctly. I wish she would have done a couple more layers and had completely did my face makeup so I knew what it was like. I think I may be one of the few people that had never really worn powdered makeup.

photo 4(2)

Ulta sells a 30 day starter kit. I wear makeup once or twice a week so this is going to last my a while. All the things shown above only cost me $20.

photo 5(3)

The starter kit includes Primer, Foundation, Concealer, Mineral Veil (finishing powder) and the two brushes.

Once I came home I wanted to try this out for myself. It was intimidating to put this on myself. I have been wearing the same makeup routine for years. Which consists of a lot of makeup to cover scaring, acne spots, and dark circles.

I wanted to give this a fare shot so I resisted putting loads of make up on and followed the steps. I first applied the prime time. and let it sit for a couple minutes. I did other getting ready things in-between the steps. Once that dried I applied my first very thin layer of the foundation, and let it sit and the did that process about 3 or 4 more times. After that I then took the little brush and went over a few spots with the concealer. I did not purchase a bronzer or blush by bare essentials yet, so I used what I already had for that step. Lastly I used the mineral veil. This is something that I was told can be used all over or in your t-zone area. I chose to use it all over.

10247306_10203714813771851_6623006172397991939_n

It turned out great. It had way better coverage than I expected.

It didnt cover everything, however I had just had an extremely bad break out from some makeup that I was allergic to. When I washed my face the night after wearing this the first time. The break out had gone down almost completely. I was impressed by that.

Since I only wear makeup once or twice a week I haven’t gotten the chance to wear it again, to see if it works great the second time around. We will see Sunday after church.

A few things I like and didn’t like about this product.

I am not a huge fan that it is powder and it has the potential to be messy and get all over my makeup bag.

I don’t like that I have to apply so many thin layers instead of one layer like I did with the liquid.

I do/don’t like the fact that it feels like I am not wearing any makeup. (Its going to take some getting used to.)

I love the fact that it didn’t irritate my skin

I love the fact that it didn’t cause and eczema flare up

I like the fact that it doesn’t smell bad

I like the fact that it had great coverage once I do a bunch of layers.

and lastly I am on the fence on how time consuming it is. I should complain I wear makeup to church and the occasions I go somewhere. A perk of being a nanny you don’t have to spend to much on makeup. Unless you want to.

If you liked this post please subscribe and share with your friends. You can also like me on Facebook and Twitter  @simplycrystal89

This entry was posted in deals, favorites, life, review, shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

