Timeouts

I may get a lot of criticism for this post. Please take a few minutes to hear me out on this topic before you judge.

I believe timeouts are perfectly acceptable. I do not just use them whenever they do something like get into the cabinets or hit each other. I use them much differently.

I DO NOT use them as discipline.

I use them as a timeout for myself.

What I do…

I put them on the couch with a toy, book or TV if its TV time, I put the girls next to each other and let them play.

Why…

I do this when I need just one minute to regroup.

When…

I usually use this when they get whiny. Sometimes I use it when they get really aggressive. I also use this method when I need to get dishes done really fast or cook something in oven.

Timeouts are NOT a punishment. They are a timeout from playing and running around. They are essentially quite time. Since the twins are 20 months they have about a 5 minute attention span.  So this gives me 5 minutes to do what I need to do.

Sometimes that need is to drink a cup of coffee or eat a snack when they are not looking.

How to a go about this???

I just tell them lets go take a timeout. They get their toy or ask to watch Doc or some other show. Their favorite is a stack of books. These girls love books. If you have a something like dishes that need to get done and they are going to take a while, I make timeout time the same time as snack time this way I have a whole 15 minutes to get the dishes done and eat a snack.

Do I think timeouts should be used as a punishment when a child gets older?

No. I have watched other kids who are older, I used them they same way. I once watched a little boy who at 5 had really bad ADHD and anger issues. This is where I came up with this method. It worked great for him. When the girls were about 18 months I decided to give this method a try. It was successful and they love it.

So next time you think of the word TIMEOUT think of it as a timeout for you not them. We are never to old or set in our ways to try something new.

If you liked this post please subscribe and share with your friends. You can also like me on Facebook and Twitter  @simplycrystal89

This entry was posted in children, Knowlegde, life, nanny and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Timeouts

  1. Jen says:

    Interesting… I like this concept!

Leave a Reply

